27-29 June 2023
National Research Nuclear University MEPhI
Europe/Moscow timezone

High-frequency antenna cluster at the Tien Shan High-Mountain Scientific Station

27 Jun 2023, 16:00
Hall of B-100 Lecture Room (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI)

Hall of B-100 Lecture Room

National Research Nuclear University MEPhI

Kashirskoe shosse 31, Moscow, Russian Federation, 115409
Poster Cosmic rays of very high energies (> 1 PeV) Poster Session


Saken Shinbulatov (KazNU al Farabi)Mr Yerzhan Mukhamejanov (Joint Institute for Nuclear Research)


Antenna clusters located in the Tien Shan High Mountaine Scientific Station (TSHMSS) are designed for radio detection of Extensive Air Showers (EAS) of cosmic rays. The cluster consists of 4 radio antennas, which each of them consists of mutually perpendicular arcs distributed over an area of 1700 m2. The analog part of the measuring path consists of a SALLA type antenna. These high-frequency antennas of the ”SALLA" type were used in the Tunka-REX experiment, operating in the frequency range of 30-80 MHz.
The antenna cluster works in conjunction with other installations to register SHAL. The cluster registers radio signals emitted by showers with energy above 10^15-10^16 eV. The purpose of the cluster is to investigate the possibilities of radio detection of the EAS, at an altitude of 3440 m above sea level, to determine the energy and elemental composition of primary cosmic rays.
Preliminary experimental data were obtained from the antenna cluster located at the Tien Shan high-Mountain Scientific Station. The experimental data were compared with the data obtained as a result of modeling in the CORSIKA package.

Primary author

Saken Shinbulatov (KazNU al Farabi)


Alexander Shepetov (Lebedev Physical Institute) Nurzhan Saduyev (Al-Farabi Kazakh National University, Institute of Experimental and Theoretical Physics) Valery Zhukov (Lebedev Physical Institute) Mr Dmitriy Beznosko (Clayton State University) Mr Orazaly Kalikulov (Al-Farabi Kazakh National University) Mr Yerzhan Mukhamejanov (Joint Institute for Nuclear Research) Mr Nurzhan Yerezhep (Al-Farabi Kazakh National University) Mrs Aliya Baktoraz (Al-Farabi Kazakh National University) Mr Shinbolat Utey (Al-Farabi Kazakh National University) Mr Askhat Zhumabayev (Al-Farabi Kazakh National University)

Presentation Materials